samburu lad
samburu men

Representing the Samburu People of Northern Kenya

Council head office in Maralal
county headquarters.jpg
Kenya is divided into provinces; currently they are eight in number each headed by provincial commissioners. Each province is further sub-divided into units called districts and still further divided into locations and sub-locations. It is a multi-party democratic country now having been a one-party state since independence. The Samburu County council was founded to promote and Administer the land and peoples of the Samburu region.The members control the preservation of wildlife, the creation of income for managing existing and future projects and protect the native indigenous populace
The County Councils holds in trust on behalf of the local community the trust lands (unregistered land). Working with the wildlife service and private and government agencies to manage a sustainable ecosystem and bestow philanthropic benefits on the people of the
Samburu District, land has been demarcated and subdivided into group ranches and to a lesser degree con-opted to private ownership. The changing pattern of land tenure has had many implications for mixed land use. With more of the land falling into the care of group ranches and private ownership. The more flexible communal uses of this land being Safari accommodation and traditional craft creation.


There are 90 personnel working for Samburu National reserve of which 60 are Game rangers. The others are drivers, revenue clerks, secretary and labourers.
The ranger force comprises:- senior warden, warden, assistant wardens, S/Sergeant, Sergeant, CPL and the field rangers. They undergo paramilitary training together with KWS personnel and the officers {wardens} Together with the same courses as KWS wardens in National and International colleges and universities. These study centres include: College of African Wildlife Management (MWEKA) Tanzania, Southern African Wildlife College in South Africa, KWS Naivasha Institute Kenya, University of Kent UK and many others.

Benefits to communities from the Samburu County Council

Samburu County Council is the local district council for Samburu District, which is administered by the Ministry of Local Government. Samburu County Council generates 90% of its revenue from Samburu National reserve, which goes directly for use in various community development programmes in the entire Samburu District. It pays staff salaries and funds the management of Samburu National reserve. Samburu County Council has 250 members of staff of which 90 are working in the game reserve.
Samburu County Council is composed of various departments including Administration, Treasury, Education, Water, Social Services, Public Health, Veterinary, Works, Wildlife (Samburu National reserve ) and Marketing department. These departments run different poverty reduction programmes toward communities living in the District.

The council provides services to the communities including employment, bursaries to secondary schools, colleges and universities; employing teachers for the communities (adult education, nursery schools and nomadic classes for the herdsmen). The council also has a social services department and veterinary department. They allocate contracts, assist schools, health institutions and community projects.